Published on:

New Jersey Child Care / Day Care Regulations – What Rules Apply as to Vehicle / Transportation Safety Practices?

By Robert Fernicola, Attorney and David Wolf, Attorney
Published by Child Injury Lawyer Network

education%20school%20day%20care%20yellow%20school%20bus%20toy%20antique%20side%20view.jpg

In New Jersey, child care centers and day care centers are regulated by the Department of Human Resources and the Child Care Licensing Laws. There are specific rules / regulations pertaining to vehicle related safety practices under the New Jersey Administrative Code (N.J.A.C. Chapter 10: 10:122-9.5).

When transporting children, day care centers in New Jersey have a duty to properly supervise children. In particular, these regulations mandate that children should never be left unattended on the day care bus, van or vehicle. Furthermore, children should be let on and off the vehicle only at the curbside of the location or street. For all children under the age of 6 years old, the school bus driver and / or aide has a duty to make sure that the child is discharged by a parent and duly authorized caregiver. There are a number of other regulations that can be reviewed in the New Jersey Administrative Code that should be reviewed by both day care providers and parents to make sure that there is compliance with the same.

You can read more about these and other regulations at Chapter 122 – Manual of Requirements for Child Care Centers – State of New Jersey Department of Human Resources.