Published on:

Kansas Day Care Centers – Child Care Centers: What are the Requirements for Transportation – Van – Bus Liability Insurance?

By Joni J. Franklin, Attorney and David Wolf, Attorney
Published by Child Injury Lawyer Network

educations%20school%20day%20care%20school%20bus%20close%20up%20view%20of%20top%20of%20yellow%20school%20bus.jpg

Child care centers and day care centers in Kansas are regulated by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment through various laws, rules, and regulations. Pursuant to General Regulations – K.A.R. 28-4-130 – Transportation (Page 32), a child care center, that provides transportation, has a duty have no less than $100,000 in liability insurance for the injury or death of one person and $300,000 for injury or death to two or more persons.

This is an important regulation to follow as it provides for insurance coverage should there be an accident causing personal injuries or death to a child. If the day care center driver was at fault, parents should be able to see compensation to cover medical bills including future medical bills, lost wages of the parent, and the pain and suffering associated with the personal injuries. Having the requisite insurance in place along with the right legal representation in place can help a parent recover damages or compensation for the personal injuries and related expenses.

If a child has been injured in a child care center vehicle accident, result of negligence, a child injury lawyer can answer many questions that arise when dealing with these matters.