Published on:

Colorado Child Booster Seat Law – Duty of Parents, Day Care Providers and Other Transporters of Children

By David Wolf, Attorney
Published by Child Injury Lawyer Network

US%20State%20Flag%20Colorado.jpg

Colorado has a adopted a new law that changed the requirements for children who have to use booster seats. Under the previous law, children between the ages of 4 and 5 were required to be restrained by a booster seat while in a motor vehicle. Now, under the new law, children who are 6 and 7 are also required to be restrained by a booster seat. Also, a child’s height and weight are no longer the determining factors of whether or not a child should be restrained in a booster seat – the new law only has an age requirement affecting children under 8-years of age.

Many Colorado parents are unaware of the changes the new laws made. However, not obeying this law is consider a primary traffic offense in Colorado. An officer is legally able to stop you for the sole reason of not having your child in a booster or car seat. The minimum fine is $82 for every offense. However, police will give a warning in the law’s first year. To read more on the new law see Colorado changes its booster seat law.

Parents, day care providers, babysitters and other people who transport children need to inform themselves of changes made by the new booster seat law. Hopefully, this law will decrease crash-related or other traffic-related child injuries.