Published on:

Georgia Day Care Centers – What Rules / Laws Apply to Staff – Director of Day Care Center?

By Scott Zahler, Attorney and David Wolf, Attorney
Published by Child Injury Lawyer Network

State%20Map%20Georgia.jpg

Pursuant to Rule 591-1-1.31 Staff – of the Georgia Rules and Regulations for Child Care Learning Centers, a child care center is required to have a director who is responsible for the supervision, operation and maintenance of the center. The director must be on the center’s premises. When he or she is not on the center’s premises, a person must be designated to assume responsibility for the operation of the center.

Below is a list of qualifications a person must have in order to become a director of a child care center in the state of Georgia:
– Be at least 21-years-old;
– Possess one of the minimum academic requirements, in addition to qualifying child care experience at time of employment: a). high school diploma or G.E.D. and b). 1 year of qualifying child care experience. (For more elaboration on was constitutes “qualifying child care experience” it would be helpful to read that plan language of Rule 591-1-1.31 Staff – of the Georgia Rules and Regulations for Child Care Learning Centers).
– Have proof of successful completion of a biennial CPR program and a triennial training program in first aid.
– Not suffer from any physical handicap or mental health disorder that would interfere in the applicant’s ability to perform the job duties of providing care and supervision.
– Never been shown by credible evidence, e.g., a court or jury, to have abused neglected or deprived a child or to have subjected any person to serious injury as a result of intentional or grossly negligent misconduct.
– Not have a criminal record;
– Not have made any false statements concerning qualification requirements.

Also, pursuant to Rule 591-1-1.31 Staff – of the Georgia Rules and Regulations for Child Care Learning Centers, every center must have a teacher for each group of children.

Below is a list of minimum qualifications for a person to be a prospective applicant for a teacher/lead caregiver position within the state of Georgia:
– Be at least 18-years-old
– Have high school diploma or G.E.D. (For more elaboration on this requirement it would be helpful to read that plan language of Rule 591-1-1.31 Staff – of the Georgia Rules and Regulations for Child Care Learning Centers).
– Have evidence showing proof of successful completion of a biennial training program in CPR and a triennial training program in first aid.
– Never been shown by credible evidence, e.g., a court or jury, to have abused neglected or deprived a child or to have subjected any person to serious injury as a result of intentional or grossly negligent misconduct.
– Not have a criminal record;
– Not have made any false statements concerning qualification requirements.

Finally, pursuant to Rule 591-1-1.31 Staff – of the Georgia Rules and Regulations for Child Care Learning Centers, a center has the option to employ caregivers/aides to assist the teacher/lead caregiver in the care of children in any group of children at the center. It is strictly prohibited for a caregiver/aide who is 16-years-old or 17-years-old to be solely responsible for the children.

Below is a list of qualifications for caregivers/aides in the state of Georgia:
– Be at least 16-years-old.
– Have evidence showing proof of successful completion of a biennial training program in CPR and a triennial training program in first aid.
– Never been shown by credible evidence, e.g., a court or jury, to have abused neglected or deprived a child or to have subjected any person to serious injury as a result of intentional or grossly negligent misconduct.
– Not have a criminal record;
– Not have made any false statements concerning qualification requirements.

When a child is abused or injured in a Georgia Day Care Center, it can be quite challenging for a parent to deal with the aftermath, stress, and trauma of such injuries to the child. The book titled The ABCs of Child Injury – Legal Rights of the Injured Child – What Every Parent Should Know – contains chapters on Child Abuse, School Injuries, Day Care Injuries, Damages / Compensation, and other topics. You can receive a free book on Child Injury Questions and Issues. The book is also available on the following websites: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and the Apple iBookstore.